Hello :)

This is my first blog post and actually my first blog so I’m really excited to start writing. My blog will explore my different interests including makeup, baking, video games, mental health, and dogs. I’ll share new experiences I have on this blog as well as reviews/any cool helpful ideas I come across. Feel free to leave comments or contact me if you have anything you want me to do a post about or any suggestions.

I’ll give a little background on myself for my first blog post. I am a 23-year-old recent college graduate. I graduated with a degree in psychology and worked for two years at a suicide prevention hotline. At the time I was working for the suicide prevention hotline I was also pursuing a Master’s degree in Social Work. The work I did was incredibly meaningful however from working there and from the classes I took in Social Work I realized that the field was not for me. I switched gears and decided to go back to school to pursue a degree in computer science. I love technology and after using an e-learning book to learn the basics of Python and other coding languages, I quickly figured out that computer science was right for me. I took a position at an IT company to gain some technical experience and am currently taking some preliminary courses at a local college.

My job could honestly be a whole blog by itself; while I am learning an incredible amount of knowledge, the job (and the environment) can be incredibly hectic, stressful and trying. I’ve worked in a lot of different work environments (from fast food to corporate to family owned business) however this work environment is a first (one of my closest friends thinks I’m being punked sometimes based off of the stories I have). Right now I’m trying out different strategies to cope with it (I took my work email off my phone and am trying very hard to develop that work/life balance) however I may touch upon my job in some posts on this blog.

As a person, I’m learning more about myself day after day. A very toxic relationship led me to lose myself for 3 years however with the love and support of those around me I began to regain myself and learn who I am. I was diagnosed with Bipolar II disorder a few years back, which has been a huge part of my life. While I have my disorder under control now (after years of medication and therapy) a lot of my day still consists of checking in on myself and asking myself how am I feeling today, is something bothering me, do I need to take a break and relax. While I have come a long way from where I was when I was first diagnosed there is still work left to do in order to maintain and continue to become a stronger person.

I’m someone who loves animals and will go out of my way to pet a dog or visit a sanctuary. I have a 4 ½ year old rescue pup who’s #1 in my life (to my fiancé’s dismay). She’s a beagle mix and is just about the cutest thing on four legs – she loves people and attacks new people with hugs and kisses when she meets them. She is honestly the best pup in the world.

I’m also a hardcore make up lover. While I’m not the best at putting it on (mornings are trying with that liquid eyeliner) I love playing around with eye shadows and new palettes that come out. My favorite is the Naked 3 palette (with all the rose gold colors) – the colors are gorgeous and make my brown eyes pop. I’m also on the search for a good matte liquid lipstick – if anyone has any good suggestions leave them in the comments! I’m thinking I may do reviews of liquid lipsticks/durability of different brands.

There’s a lot more to me but I’ll save that for later blog posts (I know, the suspense is killing you!). I’m excited to start blogging and meeting new people!

Leave a Reply

